Recipes

So…. I don’t like using recipes. Or for whatever reason I usually look at a few and say “screw that, I’m going to do it my own way.” Is it my form of rebellion? Possibly. Or maybe just culinary laziness. But I tend to look at a bunch of recipes, more for inspiration than anything, then jump in and do it my own way. Typically, this results in something yummy at the other end.

My most recent example of this is ginger beer. I’m not going all out and getting the “ginger beer plant” or whatever that is (still a little confused on that one). I basically made some simple syrup, simmered a bunch of sliced and peeled ginger in some water, ground it up in my food processor, strained it, added some lemon juice and stuck it in some bottles. I got champagne yeast from Seven Bridges and am going to sprinkle a bit of that stuff on top as soon as it’s cooled down.

I looked at some recipes online and they’re all so different, so I just sort of combined them and did it the easiest way possible. We will see how this turns out. A friend of mine made some ginger beer and he had a recipe, but has yet to send it my way as he promised he would (need to do some more nagging about it). I probably wouldn’t use the recipe anyway.

In other news, it’s TOMATO PLANTING TIME! Oh sweet sunshine, it’s here. I am going out today to plant them. I already got one in a hanging basket, how amazing will this be, walk out the back door and pick some tomatoes hanging down from the rafters. So far I’ve got: Black Krim, San Marzano, Patio (in the hanging basket), Sungold and I am going to go back for an Isis Candy soon. Those did well with our yard last year. And I think this is going to be a warm year, based on how this spring has been (thank goodness). Basil, beans and pickling cucumbers to come! I just need a zucchini and I’m set 🙂

This along with the studying I need to do. I’ve got a final that I am taking Monday and feel not at all prepared. So I guess it’s time to stop procrastinating and move along to those textbooks. Maybe I’ll sit outside and enjoy this beautiful sunshine… that’s what it’s there for, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

