A photo essay of my opinion on this summer

As I sit here eating a breakfast of fig jam and cream cheese on top of a home-made baguette of my husband’s doing, I look at my opinion that this has been a pretty crappy summer. Today is the first day of fall and I am reflecting on what I have done and learned. Here is my list with pictures to accompany:

1. Seizures suck. (no picture to accompany, because that is just sad). I hate this part of me. I hate that I learned that my brain can wreak such havoc on my body. I hate that I have hate in me. But I do, and I am learning to accept it. Slowly.

2. Seizures result in temporary removal of driving and swimming privileges, even if you happen to have a brand new beautiful car to drive around and a new gym with a pool.

Image

3. The desire to learn to knit is fleeting, but a strong bonding tool with Grandma. Visits from Grandma are always wonderful (and sometimes result in wrist warmers)

Image

Image

4. Berry season is always worth a u-pick session or two

Image

Image

5. Mom’s peach tree – no words necessary

Image

Image

6. Accepting the path that life has given me has been difficult. With my triumphs comes failure, personally, medically and professionally. Learning to accept that the future doesn’t always hold what you expect that it will is a process. But eventually stumbling on what life has intended can be worth the pain and struggle.

7. Trips to Europe are so worth pulling out of savings, delaying other savings adventures and long airplane rides (a different culinary/fun post of Europe to come)

Image

Image

ImageImage

8. Don’t ever stick your finger in an immersion blender (sorry for the gross picture, I just had to share this with the world)

Image

9. I let this summer’s gardening go to waste. My hops died, I didn’t water my tomatoes enough. I forgot the potatoes were there entirely and thus didn’t water them at all. I lost a year of progress towards building walls and steps and regret it. No pictures for this either, I don’t want to remember this failure.

10. I need to remember to ferment earlier. I will make up for lost time now.

Image

Image

11. I will gladly accept free fruit and make delicious things, specifically membrillo (quince paste… mmmm)

Image

So in doing this, I am realizing that it wasn’t a total waste of summer. It’s easy to let the really tragic and difficult things overshadow the wonderful parts of life. There are points in everyone’s life that aren’t highlights, that aren’t Facebook and Instagram worthy, that are worth blocking out entirely. I have a blessed life and am surrounded by truly unique, beautiful and loving people and I wouldn’t trade my life for anything. Thank you rainy Sunday morning for reminding me of this. And hey, the sun is starting to come out. In more ways than one. Here’s to an uplifting autumn!

One thought on “A photo essay of my opinion on this summer

Leave a Reply

